Sun  ID: 3994

RBSP & SDO: Newest Heliophysics Missions

The newest members of NASA's Heliophysics fleet are the Solar Dynamics Observatory (SDO), launched February 11, 2010, and the Radiation Belt Storm Probes (RBSP), launched August 23, 2012.

Revision (November 9, 2012): The RBSP mission has been renamed the Van Allen Probes. NASA Press Release.

Visualization Credits

Tom Bridgman (GST): Lead Animator
Scott Wiessinger (USRA): Producer
Please give credit for this item to:
NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center Scientific Visualization Studio

Short URL to share this page:

Radiation Belt Storm Probes/Van Allen Probes - RBSP
Van Allen Probes

Data Used:
SSCweb also referred to as: SSCweb ephemerides
Ephemeris - NASA/GSFC Space Physics Data Facility - RBSP
Satellite ephemerides
JPL DE421 also referred to as: DE421
Ephemeris - NASA/JPL - Moon
Satellite ToolKit Ephemeris also referred to as: STK Ephemeris
Ephemeris - STK - SDO
Satellite ephemerides
Note: While we identify the data sets used in these visualizations, we do not store any further details nor the data sets themselves on our site.

This item is part of this series:

GCMD >> Earth Science >> Sun-earth Interactions
SVS >> Space Weather
SVS >> Solar Dynamics Observatory
SVS >> Heliophysics
NASA Science >> Sun
SVS >> Van Allen Probes

GCMD keywords can be found on the Internet with the following citation: Olsen, L.M., G. Major, K. Shein, J. Scialdone, S. Ritz, T. Stevens, M. Morahan, A. Aleman, R. Vogel, S. Leicester, H. Weir, M. Meaux, S. Grebas, C.Solomon, M. Holland, T. Northcutt, R. A. Restrepo, R. Bilodeau, 2013. NASA/Global Change Master Directory (GCMD) Earth Science Keywords. Version