2017 Eclipse State Maps

  • Released Monday, February 6, 2017
View full credits

The path of totality passes through 14 states during the total solar eclipse on August 21, 2017. A map of each of these states, created for NASA's official eclipse 2017 website, is presented here. Except for Montana, each map is 8 inches wide (or high) at 300 DPI. The umbra is shown at 3-minute intervals, with times in the local time zone at the umbra center. The duration of totality is outlined in 30-second increments. Interstate highways are blue, other major roads are red, and secondary roads are gray.

Some sources list only 12 states for this eclipse, but in fact the path of totality also grazes the southwestern borders of both Montana and Iowa. The Montana part of the path is in a roadless area at the southern end of the Beaverhead Mountains, a range that defines sections of both the Montana-Idaho border and the Continental Divide. The Iowa part of the path is west of Interstate 29 near Hamburg, south of 310 Street, and bounded on the west by the Missouri River. It includes the Lower Hamburg Bend Wildlife Management Area.

For More Information


Please give credit for this item to:
NASA's Scientific Visualization Studio

Release date

This page was originally published on Monday, February 6, 2017.
This page was last updated on Thursday, January 25, 2024 at 12:08 AM EST.


This visualization can be found in the following series:

Datasets used in this visualization

Note: While we identify the data sets used in these visualizations, we do not store any further details, nor the data sets themselves on our site.